Safety Resource Centre

The IKBLC Safety Resource Centre is a website for IKBLC Staff that places all key safety related documents and procedures at your finger tips. For questions or more information, please contact your IKBLC Health, Safety and Security Committee representative.

Safety Procedures

IKBLC Health, Safety & Security Committee

Unit/Agency Name Contact Information
Chair Assistant Director, IKBLC

Emergency Director

Gordon Yusko gordon.yusko@ubc.ca

604-822-2298

Co-Chair CTLT Mischa Markortoff mischa.markotoff@ubc.ca

604-822-0064

Archives/RBSC Erwin Wodarczak erwin.wodarczak@ubc.ca

604-827-3954

Arts One/CAP Serena Gibbons arts.haus@ubc.ca

604-822-2463

Arts One/CAP Rose Harper arts.one@ubc.ca

604-822-3430

Chapman Learning Commons Clare Yow clare.yow@ubc.ca

604-827-5949

Digitization Centre Laura Ferris laura.ferris@ubc.ca

604-827-1532

Enrolment Services Scottford Price scottford.price@ubc.ca

604-827-0135

iSchool/SLAIS Connie Wintels 604-822-5939

ischool.admin@ubc.ca

IKBLC Circulation Leeta Sokalski leeta.sokalski@ubc.ca

604-822-3894

Ike’s Café Ada De Luna ada.deluna@ubc.ca
Information Technology Rex Chang rex.chang@ubc.ca

604-822-6362

Information Technology Darko Separovic darko.separovic@ubc.ca

604-822-5266

Library Administration & Facilities Alicia Munro alicia.munro@ubc.ca

604-822-5521

Library Facilities Richard Moore richard.moore@ubc.ca

604-822-3858

Music, Art and Architecture Leslie McAuley leslie.mcauley@ubc.ca

604-822-3589

Science One/CSP James Charbonneau james@phas.ubc.ca

604-827-2378

UBC Wellness Centre Kelly White kelly.white@ubc.ca

604-822-4858

Monthly Safety Meetings

Date Minutes Inspection Area and Responsibility
July 18, 2013 Wellness Centre None
August 15, 2013 Arts One None
September 19, 2013 MAArP CLC/Qualicum – Clare/Linda
October 17, 2013 SLAIS Gateway Areas – Sheri/Rose
November 21, 2013 Library Admin  Level 4: Music, Ridington Mezzanine, stacks, staffroom, group study rooms – Karen/Leeta
December 19, 2013 CLC Jubilee Room, Musqueam Room – Gordon/James
January 16, 2014 CTLT Ike’s Café area
February 20, 2014 LSIT  SLAIS – Debra/Karen
March 20, 2014 Science One Level 3: MS Desk, Library wing (AArP Office), group study rooms, Ridington Room, stacks – Kelly
April 17, 2014 Circulation

IKBLC First Aid Attendants

 

  • 2nd Floor
  • 3rd Floor
    • Julie Mitchell
    • Bill Thompson
  • 4th Floor
  • Paula Farrar (Music, Art and Architecture)
  • Please note that ALL Campus Security staff have Level 1 First Aid tickets

Workplace Inspections

Supervisors are required to regularly inspect their work areas to ensure that unsafe conditions or practices are discovered and eliminated or controlled. Inspections should be conducted approximately one week prior to the Safety Committee meeting to allow time to prepare the inspection report and consider various corrective actions to be discussed. For more information, please consult Section 5 of the Risk Management Safety Committee Training Manual.

Safety Orientation Resources

General Information