Safety Resource Centre

The IKBLC Safety Resource Centre is a website for IKBLC Staff that places all key safety related documents and procedures at your finger tips. For questions or more information, please contact your IKBLC Health, Safety and Security Committee representative.

Health & Safety Policies and Procedures

Pets in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre:

Background: Since 2007 the University Health and Safety Committee has advised that this issue be dealt with on a case-by-case basis in the affected faculty, department and/or unit. Accordingly, incidents can be brought to the attention of local health and safety committees.

Policy: The IKBLC Health and Safety Committee reviewed this issue at its October 2014 meeting.  A solid majority of the members agreed that pets are not permitted in the Learning Centre.  The exception to this policy is for registered animals that are serving as guides or aides to their owners.

IKBLC Health, Safety & Security Committee

Unit/Agency Name Contact Information
Chair Assistant Director, IKBLCEmergency Director Gordon Yusko gordon.yusko@ubc.ca  604-822-2298
Co-Chair CTLT Mischa Markortoff mischa.markotoff@ubc.ca  604-822-0064
Archives/RBSC Erwin Wodarczak erwin.wodarczak@ubc.ca  604-827-3954
Arts One/CAP Serena Gibbons arts.haus@ubc.ca  604-822-2463
Arts One/CAP Rose Harper arts.one@ubc.ca  604-822-3430
Chapman Learning Commons Clare Yow clare.yow@ubc.ca  604-827-5949
Digitization Centre Laura Ferris laura.ferris@ubc.ca  604-827-1532
Enrolment Services Scottford Price scottford.price@ubc.ca  604-827-0135
iSchool/SLAIS Melissa Nightingale ischool.ssc@ubc.ca  604-822-2461
IKBLC Circulation Leeta Sokalski leeta.sokalski@ubc.ca  604-822-3894
Ike’s Café Ada De Luna ada.deluna@ubc.ca
Library Administration & Facilities Alicia Munro alicia.munro@ubc.ca  604-822-5521
Library Facilities Vacant
Library Human Resources Chrissy Johnson chrissy.johnson@ubc.ca  604-822-4894
 Music, Art and Architecture  Leslie McAuley  leslie.mcauley@ubc.ca  604-822-3589
Science One/CSP James Charbonneau james@phas.ubc.ca  604-827-2378
UBC Wellness Centre Veronica Marchuk veronica.marchuk@ubc.ca  604-822-4858

Monthly Safety Meetings

Date Minutes Inspection Area and Responsibility
June 19, 2014 Arts One – Rose or Serena CTLT Level 1 & 2 – Mischa / Rose
July 17, 2014 Enrolment Services – Scottford Library Admin – Alicia / Scottford
August 21, 2014 Ike’s Cafe – Ada RBSC / Digital Intiatives – Laura or Erwin / Connie
September 18, 2014 RSBC / Archives – Erwin or Laura Storage Area, Level 1 – Alicia / Rose
October 16, 2014 CLC – Clare Wellness Centre – Veronica / Clare
November 20, 2014 Library Admin – Alicia Arts One & Gateway Areas – Rose or Serena / Leeta
December 18, 2014 Science One – James CLC / Qualicum – Clare / Veronica
January 15, 2015 Music, Art & Architecture – Leslie No inspections in January
February 19, 2015 IKBLC Admin – Gordon Level 4: Music, Ridington Mezzanine, stacks, staffroom, group study rooms – Leslie / Scottford
March 19, 2015 SLAIS – Connie Jubilee Room, Musqueam Room – Gordon / Melissa
April 16, 2015 LSIT – Darko or Rex Ike’s Cafe area – Ada / Gordon
May 21, 2015 Circulation – Leeta SLAIS – Melissa / Clare
June 18, 2015 TBC Level 3: MS Desk, library wing, group study rooms, Ridington Room, stacks – Leeta / James

IKBLC First Aid Attendants

  • 1st Floor
    • Vitaly Lazovskih (CTLT), 604-827-4230
    • Veronica Marchuk (Wellness Centre), 604-822-4858
  • 2nd Floor
  • 3rd Floor
  • 4th Floor
    • Paula Farrar (Music, Art and Architecture), 604-822-4474
    • Connie Wintels (iSchool/SLAIS), 604-822-593
  • Please note that ALL Campus Security staff have Level 1 First Aid tickets

 

Workplace Inspections

Supervisors are required to regularly inspect their work areas to ensure that unsafe conditions or practices are discovered and eliminated or controlled. Inspections should be conducted approximately one week prior to the Safety Committee meeting to allow time to prepare the inspection report and consider various corrective actions to be discussed. For more information, please consult Section 5 of the Risk Management Safety Committee Training Manual.

Safety Orientation Resources

General Information